Local Government

Meet the Members of the Chignik City Council

Council Corner

The Chignik City Council consists of seven council members who serve three-year terms. Council members are elected by the people while the mayor is chosen from and by the council. The current council members are as follows.

Guy Ashby , Mayor
Seat B, Term expires 2020
Mayor Term expires 2020

Herb Brown
Seat D, Council Term expires 2022

Robert Carpenter
Seat E, Term expires 2022

Andrew Anderson, Vice Mayor
Seat A, Council Term expires 2022
Vice Mayor Term expires 2022

Wallace Hinderer
Seat C, Term expires 2022

James Anderson
Seat F, Term expires 2023

Ben Allen
Seat G, Term expires 2022

Regular council meetings are held on the second Wednesday of every month in the meeting room of the City Office at 7:00 pm. The public is encouraged and welcome to attend.

The meetings are also accessible by telephone. The call-in number is 1-800-315-6338. Use code 22801.


The City's Code of Ordinances was codified on March 4, 2020. For a link to the complete document (large file), click here.